Exhausted after a long day of pushing paper in higher ed for a few coins thrown my way every couple of weeks, I wanted to slowly slip into dreamland where I hoped Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson was waiting to cuddle on the couch as we watched the last season of Mad Men.

Hey, it could happen….no, I’ll be realistic. That dream will probably never happen. In reality or even in dreamland since I can’t conjure up dream content on a whim.

However, thanks to Mattieologie’s Periscope prompt, I’m thinking of more realistic dreams.

This dream has the probability of becoming a reality, a dream that I’ve nurtured for twenty years: writing & visual storytelling.

So tell us a little more about your dream.

I thoroughly enjoy writing….about many….different….topics. Storytelling via various mediums – the written word, photos, video, music, etc. – can be engaging and powerful, breathing life into a subject in ways some couldn’t previously imagine.

Blogging gives me the opportunity to share my experiences, life lessons, and encouragement for those who feel they have to be the ONLY people on earth experiencing craziness in their lives on a daily basis.

That’s lovely, but exactly what does this look like?

Well,I blog in several spaces, some more frequently than others.

64 Eats – Chronicles my foodie adventures along I-64 in Virginia (and a few beyond!)

Brandy Anderson, Writer – Personal blog that covers a gamut of topics

See Jane Dress – My new project which involves the journey of a plain Jane in her pursuit to discover her personal style.

While currently a blog chronicling some really great meals I’ve experienced along I-64 in Virginia, I want it to be more. I see 64 Eats developing into weekly webisodes that explore the origins of food, shares the food philosophy and personal history of local chefs/restaurant owners of some of my favorite places, helping people have a more informed experience when they dine and hopefully develop an appreciation for local cuisine instead of always hitting up huge chains like they are going out of style.

With See Jane Dress, I’d also like to create short webisodes showing the struggles and triumphs of finding affordable items that will contribute to Jane’s new style. There are a few other ideas in the works too. 🙂

I currently shoot all of my footage on two iPhones (4 and 5c), which is nice for now but I would like to expand. Upgrading the technology available to me would give the blog the edge it needs and help me give it a more professional look.

So are you serious about these ideas?

After spending the last 15 years in and out of cubicle land looking to other sources to fulfill the above dreams, I realize if it’s something I want to see happen in life I need to pursue it. I’m at a point where I can’t wait for all my ducks to be in a row (school, the best laptop, the best camera, etc) to pursue the dreams I’ve outlined above which is why I’ve started capturing footage with my two iPhones.

These ideas have been nurtured for almost 20 years. It’s time to make it happen. I’m in for the long haul. Can I get a fist bump or a high five if you feel me?