Tis the season for resolutions, life changes, goal setting and the like. My social media feeds began to fill up with all sorts of challenges beginning around the middle of December. If you can think of it I’m sure I’ve seen a challenge for it: blogging challenges, writing challenges, running challenges, squat challenges, possum throwing challenges.

Okay, so I may have exaggerated a bit on that last one but I think you understand where I’m going with this. People all over the planet are evaluating where they are in life and setting goals to get to where they want to be. As a result of the barrage of betterment sentiments, I felt the need to evaluate some things in my own life. While I don’t dip into Walter Mitty-like day dreams, I often find myself wading in the ocean of introspection on a daily basis.

I think about how I need to develop my writing skills, refreshing that dusty corner of my brain that holds all things grammatical. That joker has been neglected for quite some time. I think about how I need to whip my body into shape to keep my doctor’s visits infrequent and my health care costs to a minimum since most of my spare cash goes to paying on student loan debt whose existence seems it will last *cue echo* for-eh-ver….for-eh-ver….for-eh-ver.

Like millions of other people, I have plenty of goals but my strategic planning could use a bit of elbow grease. There are some goals which make an annual appearance on my list of resolutions. Due to the internet’s credibility with quotes I question whether or not Confucius or a Golden Girl stated the following:

“When it is obvious that the goals cannot be reached, don’t adjust the goals.

Adjust the action steps.” ~Confucius (or Rose Nylund)

Whomever uttered that nugget of wisdom was certainly on to something. I see evidence of times in my life when I spent more time readjusting goals instead of action steps. Here I am years later still reaching for the prize. At times I feel like a kid at a carnival trying to win the big stuffed teddy bear but with only two quarters left in my pocket and the 10 minutes before closing time. Although I have plenty of time, it is still of the essence and I feel like I need to get my hustle on to accomplish a few things before I say “I do” to some special gent and start creating mini-mes.

So in 2014 I add a little extra fervency to my hustle. I had it last year when I trained for my first 10K but like Stella, this one needs to get her groove back. Armed with a monthly gym membership and a longing to see progress, one of my main goals is to lace up my old pair of New Balance sneakers (like Steve Carrell’s in Crazy.Stupid.Love) to train at least four times a week. Leading up to the race last year, I averaged 7 miles per day. That was 7 months ago.

Hmm…

I think I’d better start small. How about a stroll around the block?

What’s that one thing you keep attempting to accomplish every year that seems to get away from you? Or what is the number one goal you wish to accomplish this year?

Image

For the month of January I will attempt to trudge my way through 31 days of posting via Jeff Goins’ 500 Words Writing Challenge. Won’t you join me?
