“Where you are in your life vs. where you thought you would be at this point”

Let’s start off with where I though I would be at this point. According to my 12-year old self my life should look like this:

  • 32 -years old with two children and a dog
  • Married to a 35 – year old man named Byron who works in production at Warner Bros.
  • I am employed by Disney Animation
  • Combined annual income $210,000
  • Live in a renovated cape cod with at least 6 bedrooms and 4 baths, movie room, library, backyard and lake.

*double-blink*

The 12-year old me had big dreams.

What does my life actually look like?

  • 32 – years old with no animals or children
  • Condo-style living
  • Working in higher ed
  • Far from raking in that $210,000 per annum (let’s rearrange those numbers and remove a zero)
  • Single and never met a Byron

There are so many things I thought I would have achieved by now.  The 32-year old me often thinks it’s time to move on past the dreams due to all sorts of setbacks and trials on top of tribulations.  However the 12-year old me is rooting for success and pushes me forward to pursue those things that still have a chance of being obtained.

“Success consists of going from failure to failure

without loss of enthusiasm.”

Winston Churchill

I am working on the enthusiasm part.

While I may not be looking for Byron (haven’t even met anyone named Byron) I hold on to the possibility of me working in a fulfilling career, getting married, perhaps having ( and/or adopting) children and earning enough to take care of my needs and even a few wants.

Are you surprised about where you are in life in comparison to

what you planned years ago?

