The Single Woman’s Blogging Challenge – Day 5

“The biggest misconception you think people have about single life”

I think the biggest misconception people have about the single life is that your life doesn’t truly begin until you get married.

For some reason people think single people must not be having fun.

Hold the phone? What is this foolishness? Absurdity? Ballyhoo? You get the point.

Enjoying life is a decision you make regardless of your relationship status.
It’s up to you to live life to the fullest whether you and your spouse are popping out kids in an effort to best the Duggars or you’re a single woman focused on her career.

When I was in high school, I learned that my grandmother studied French in college. In my 20s it was revealed that she was certified to teach the subject but she never visited a francophone country.

Egad! Hold up! Wait a minute! Why not?

Well shortly after she graduated from college my grandmother met my grandpa, they married and started making beautiful babies.

*awww*

For many years she focused on nurturing her family, then the young minds of many school children as she taught in our local school system for almost 30 years! As a teen I told her about my desire to travel. I remember her telling me “do it while you’re young, before you get married”.

Thanks to her wisdom I have been blessed to seize a few opportunities to travel abroad. I have journals filled with hilarious experiences and situations that occurred abroad that I would never trade for anything else. My goal is to seek out enriching life experiences. Sometimes those experiences involve me going out alone. *gasp*

Calm down. There’s nothing wrong with enjoying my own company. I am the only person in this world who HAS to live with me so why not like myself? Seriously, if I waited until someone else was available to “come with” I’d only have seen a handful of movies and never would’ve left the country or even ventured out of my hometown. There’s too much to miss out on waiting around to be married before you start living.

However, if I meet someone in the process, that’s icing on the cake.

🙂

Are you comfortable doing things alone? What do you think is the biggest misconception about being single?
Tell me in the comments below!

