I stumbled on a blog challenge via #Startbloggers on Facebook that intrigued me. Normally I don’t do blog challenges. Who has time for all of that writing? Who has time for all of that reading? I can’t just write my own posts without reading and learning from what others have written. Then I thought of the countless hours I stare at the ceiling each night or in the wee hours of the morning trying to sleep. So I weighed the possibilities.

Blog challenge it is.

This particular challenge (The Single Woman’s 30 Day Blogging Challenge) requires 30 days of posts answering a myriad of single related questions.

*blank stare*

Am I ready to put my business out there? Do I really want the world to know what’s going on in my life? Do I want to take the risk to encourage someone by my story or be encouraged at this stage in my story by sharing some of what I am experiencing in a public setting?

Sure why not. 😉 Away we go!

Day 1: Your response to everyone’s favorite question: “And why are YOU still single?”

There are days I feel that I can answer that succinctly, confidently. Then there are other days I can’t even hear you phrase the question as I cry hysterically watching Crazy. Stupid. Love. while eating Häagen-Dazs.

Okay, okay. I’m kidding. Sheesh.

Pineapple Chobani, not Häagen-Dazs. I’m trying to eat healthier.

Several years after crossing the threshold of my third decade on this earth, I often feel as if my life is on hold. There are a number of dreams on my to-do list of life that I haven’t had the opportunity to cross off. The proverbial places to go and people to see are waiting for me. My progress has been hindered on more than one occasion and the version of me that I would love to present to someone else is still an EXTREMELY rough draft.

Seriously. It’s not even ready for help from one of those grammar nerds at a college writing center (WE LOVE YOU ALL!).

And while I know “no one is perfect”, there is a certain place of stability that I’d like to achieve before I start advertising my availability. In the meantime I fight the feeling that I am standing still on a corner while those I know whiz by me on the way to their destinations. There is no use in fueling bouts of jealousy as I watch God’s timing pair up my buddies around me. In so many areas of my life, His timing for me is vastly different then what He has planned for others.

So while others speculate on my Pauline-like singleness (God of mercy, no!) or question when I will get married and start cranking out the next generation of twerkers (No Mileys in my lineage, please), I will continue to focus on what God has called me to do in this season. I focus on yielding to the Potter’s gentle (and not-so-gentle) kneading and prodding as He works out the kinks, smooths the rough edges and molds me into who He has called me to be. In the meantime I’ll be encouraged to remember this:

And so, after he had patiently endured, he [Abraham] obtained the promise. Hebrews 6:15

Believing that He is faithful.
Believing that He is faithful.

What is your number one reason for being single……besides the obvious (no man)?

 

