Back in August one of the weekly challenges online had us find a photo that demonstrates growth. I looked through the photos on my computer and found the one posted above. I’m not sure what the flowers are called but I took this photo back in March. The branches of this plant had been pretty bare for quite some time. I walked by them every day on my lunch break at work so I was able to consistently track its’ progress.  The small buds at the top of the plant were all that could be seen other than the brown branches. One day in March while the weather was still deciding if it was truly ready for the spring season, these beautiful blooms greeted me. Roots firmly embedded in soil drank the rain that had fallen all that week. Whatever sun that peeked through the clouds had been absorbed. In just the right weather conditions, the small buds revealed vibrant yellow petals. I mentioned to a couple of my coworkers that the flowers had bloomed but they didn’t know what I was talking about since they had never noticed the “plant without blooms”.  This one stood out to me because there were a few others (other kinds) near these that had bloomed already. Those were neither early or late. They bloomed in their proper time. A few of those plants had already bloomed prior to being planted in that area, brought in by the groundskeepers while others were the result of birds and other animals dropping and burying seeds.

These particular plants were not placed haphazardly. These were not bushes from seeds dropped by birds or other animals. These were strategically placed in the best spot by a group of landscapers so that in just the right season those of us passing by could enjoy the beauty of its blooms. For several months, this plant’s bare branches swayed in the wind.  When storms came, it remained firmly rooted in the ground. When blazing rays of sun hit it’s dry branches, it drew on the moisture stored underground for the nourishment it needed.

It made me think of my own life and the people around me. There will be people who will come in your life, grow, and transition elsewhere. Some will be planted near you and grow along side you, sharing in the sun, drinking in the rain and weathering many of the same storms. There may be times when people are brought into your life and their presence may have nothing to do with you: it’s just their season to be planted in the same place, drawing from the same source of nourishment, and perhaps weathering the same storms but separately.

If you feel you are in a season where your branches look a little bare, please do not lose heart. Your time to bare fruit is coming. Stay rooted and continue to draw nourishment from the soil in which you are planted. One day your vibrant blossoms will astound us all with their beauty.

John 15:4 ESV / Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me.

