It’s July 2nd! One of the biggest American barbecue holidays is only a few days away. Unfortunately my mind is not focused on hot dogs and potato salad (ok…maybe it is…just a little). Over the last few days I have been taking a mental inventory of the goals I set out to accomplish this year.

Here are a few things I have on the list for the next 6 months:

1. Finish two personal writing assignments – I need to stick to my writing schedule and resist the call of Angry Birds! Just kidding…kind of….;)

2. Spend more time connecting with people (old and new acquaintences) – I am introverted by nature. However, I chose a field that requires me to push past that in order to be successful. In addition to that I am living in a new city and need to connect with some fresh faces.

3. Be more active – Sitting in a room answering telephones along with sitting in a car for two hours during my commute combined with the hours of reading and writing I do on a consistent basis does not a BRICK HOUSE make. After purchasing a digital camera a few years back  I was motivated to get out of the house and be active. I need to reconnect with that motivation and renovate the brick house. 😉

And after I wrote everything out I came across a blog post on a personal trainer’s website and video about sharing goals on TED.com

.

Regardless of the research cited in the above video, I need to get these things done. Resolve and perseverence have set in. Let’s do this.

So after watching the video thinking of your life and personal habits do you have the tendency to follow through on those goals that you share with others or those goals that you keep secret for awhile?

