As of last month I am an undergraduate student again. It has been a few years since I have been in school. With me being what the university considers a “non-traditional” student, there are a few things to which I must adjust. As I meet other adults on campus I am immediately asked “Are you a law student?” My response usually goes something like “No, but I’d like their salary.” Joking….sort of. Being a student again has helped me focus on the things that I really want to do. Most of these things pertain to writing.

In between studying and job searching I have spent a lot of time catching up on movies that I have missed over the years, observing plotĀ patterns, character development, comedic timing and the like. As I knock out a few of the general education courses required of all undergraduate students, I wonder “Can I really do this screenwriting thing? Can I really get paid for my writing?” I certainly hope so. I’ll need to have something in line to pay back these student loans.

