On August 13, 2010 my car (aka the dune buggy) hit 125,000 miles.  Perhaps you don’t get excited when your car reaches a new milestone, but for some reason I always have. I am particularly excited where this vehicle is concerned.

During spring 2009 I returned to the U.S. after teaching English in Brazil for 3 months. I had no job, no car and a little money I had budgeted to hold me over while I sought employment. A few months after my return I had depleted my resources. Fortunately I found a part-time gig at a bookstore to hold me over. Wonderful mother that I have allowed the use of her car as long as I dropped her off and picked her up from work timely.  Meanwhile I was unaware of the unseen things that were at work.

I received an unexpected phone call from my dad one random day in July. He told me that one of my cousins that I haven’t really spoken to in years (I’m not close to my dad’s side of the family) had purchased a new vehicle and was trying to figure out what to do with her old 1999 Chevy Prizm. This cousin of mine had decided to give it to me….free of charge!  WHAT IS THAT? I mean seriously. The part-time job I had didn’t pay much so I definitely was not in a position to purchase a vehicle. I had prayed for provision and God answered. Not only was I blessed with a car, but I was also blessed with money for 6 months of insurance and registration!!! Having that car allowed me to work across town at a better job I acquired towards the latter part of the summer. But even better that car allowed me the freedom to relocate to another city to persue a degree in Cinema-Television.

On August 13, 2010 I pulled into the gas station to fill up my tank to drive down to Virginia Beach for school. As I was about to get out of the car I noticed the 125k milestone and said a prayer of thanks to God for His faithfulness. That 125k meant more than just the fact my car was still rolling merrily along. I was reminded that whenever I am in need, God is aware of it. It reminded me that when adverse circumstances linger, God is working behind the scenes. I was reminded of many situations that had occurred in my life when I could not see all that I needed as I stepped out in obedience but God in his infinite wisdom and care provided.

As I drove down to move into my new diggs and even now as I face a number of financial obligations that I have promised to honor while earnestly job searching with no “apparent success”, I am reminded of his faithfulness for which I will forever be thankful. Be encouraged!

Psalm 37:23   The Lord directs the steps of the godly. He delights in every detail of their lives.

Psalm 37:5      Commit everything you do to the Lord.  Trust him, and he will help you.

