A few months back I mentioned that I was hoping to have some good news to share. Last month I was accepted into the Cinema-TV program at a university in Virginia. Shortly after receiving notification of my acceptance, I gave three-weeks notice at work. I was somewhat happy to announce the departure. Although the previous position I had prepared me for my job it wasn’t a field of work I was excited about. The stability of knowing that I have a job and health benefits was enjoyable to a measure. The irate callers, sometimes difficult coworkers and bureaucratic setup were far from my cup of tea. The longer I stayed the more I wanted to get away.

And now a month after I notified my employers of my departure, I’m writing to you from a computer lab at school. It’s two days before classes are scheduled to begin. Over 10 years have ellapsed since I first went off to college. Many life experiences both negative and positive have occurred during that period, molding me to the older, hopefully wiser, nontraditional student that I am today. I look forward to what the semester holds for me.

