>

Last Friday I ventured to the other side of town to see Public Enemies (starring Christian Bale and Johnny Depp) with a friend of mine. I have been following Johnny’s career since the 21 Jump Street days and Christian’s career since Newsies. Yes, in other words, for a long time.

 

 

Although I wasn’t exactly expecting an in depth A&E special, I was expecting to see more substance with the two lead roles John Dillinger (Johnny Depp) and Melvin Pervis (Christian Bale). Johnny Depp’s performance reminded me of a younger Christopher Walken. Two really great actors as leads, but the roles they played lacked the depth that I’m used to seeing these guys portray. I think it had the potential of being something greater than just a summer movie. Both lead roles needed more backstory to invest the viewer in the characters. Was it worth my $7? Yeah.

 

 

 

 

