A friend of mine called me the other day to share an observation she’d stumbled upon while waiting for Barnes and Noble to open. Richmond is segmented into four parts: East End, West End, North Side and South Side.  Every side of town (to include the surrounding counties) contains at least one of the following: 1 Wal-Mart, 1 Target, 1 Ukrops, 1 Food Lion and 1 shopping mall.  I would have included 1 bookstore but after talking with my friend, I realized that Richmond does not have a literary representation in the East End.  The other parts of town have AT LEAST 1 Barnes and Noble in addition to multiple numbers of specialty bookstores.  But for some reason the East End was neglected. I could speculate a reason based on race or socio economic status of the inhabitants, but I’m not sure if that is the case or if it is just an area of town that doesn’t give a flip about literary interests. Hmmm

