Yes, I went to see it. Not only that, I went to see it alone. An adult pushing 30. No shame. I thoroughly enjoyed the series as a child and wanted to see how things would be portrayed on the big screen. Yes, this movie buff enjoyed every minute. I have always been a supporter of underdog movies geared towards children so you know I had to support.

I was definitely taken back to my childhood. My third grade teacher introduced me to the works of C.S. Lewis. I remember losing myself in the Chronicles of Narnia one summer. For some odd reason I was always drawn to any story dealing with honor, chivalry, castles, knights and swords. There was something about that world that fascinated me. It still fascinates me actually.

While watching this movie I was taken back to memories of my childhood. Desires that I had expressed many years ago began to resurface. Dreams yet fulfilled. Oftentimes the things we wanted to do as children not only take a back seat to our reality but will sometimes just fade away. We’ll just make the assumption that it was a childhood dream and nothing more. But I believe there is some substance to some of our childhood dreams. Although my desire to be a kungfu master and astronaut have dissolved, my desire to create things has not. My desire to create verbal imagery has remained. My desire to touch someone’s heart via a visual story on the big screen has remained. I can no longer stifle these desires. My every day life has begun to smell in its stagnant state. I sit still in the predictable circumstances, get up, go to work, go to church, go home. Repeat as needed. I am not sure what I am going to do, but I know I have to do something and soon, before the people around me suffer because I am not where I am supposed to be.

A song towards the end of the movie talked about change and how things may or may not be the way they’ve been before. It comes at the point when two of the four siblings share that it is time to return to WWII England and that they will not return. It’s explained that they have learned the lessons they were destined to learn and it was time to move on. I feel that I can identify with that so when the song began to play, I began to cry (as usual). I feel the urge to move. I hear the ‘let’s go’ deep down inside. I sense ‘the call’. I have heard it for quite some time now, but I haven’t moved because of the unknown.

Yes, the unknown is slightly unnerving. Not knowing bothers me at times. Everytime I think of this I am reminded of the situation in an ancient text where God tells Abraham to ‘go’. I’m sure it was a hard decision for him to ‘go’ when he had no idea where he was headed. Unfortunately I do not have hundreds of cattle and servants to take with me. All I have are my books, dvds/cds, notebooks and bad credit. I hear ‘the call’, but where do I go?

Psalm 16:8

I know the Lord is always with me. I will not be shaken, for he is right beside me.

