London. In March I had the opportunity to fulfill a lifelong dream. Ever since my third grade teacher read The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe as well as other works by British Authors, I have had a desire to visit England. Although I enjoy reading a variety of books about a variety of topics, for some reason I always enjoy delving into a book based in England. Tudor England. Pre-1066 England. Edwardian England. Arthurian England (is that a phrase?). I don’t know what the fascination is.

A few years ago I heard someone say that sometimes when the desire or purpose of a person is not fulfilled during the course of their life, that desire may be passed on to the future generations in that person’s family. Sometimes I wonder if there was some ancestor of mine who had a strong desire to return to England, but was never able to fulfill the dream.

In the picture above I am sitting along the River Thames. I spent an hour and a half to 2 hours walking around this area, sitting and observing the flow of foot traffic and the people rushing by. I smelled the air, listened to the sounds and imagined how things may have been for my ancestor. I wondered if they left England willingly or were they forced. I wondered if they left a loved one behind.

While I wondered about the desires of my ancestors, there was a part of me that wanted to visit England to have my own experience and not only know the country through someone else’s account. There were times I experienced a familiar sense during my stay. I’m not sure if it was because of all the books and travel weblogs I have read over the years or what. Nevertheless, I dream of going back.

